Follow Sarah June on WordPress.com

A Curse So Dark & Lonely

A Curse So Dark & Lonely

A Curse So Dark and Lonely: Book Review

(A Curse So Dark and Lonely #1)

Published January 29th 2019

RATING: ★★★★

4 out of 5 stars

SNYOPSIS FROM GOODREADS:

An instant New York Times Best Seller! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

OTHER FACTS ABOUT THE BOOK:

Pages: 496

Publisher: Bloomsbury YA

Series? Yes, this is the first book in series!

MY REVIEW OF A Curse So Dark and Lonely:

43204703

Fantasy – Young Adult – Retellings 

Can I just start off this review by saying, that I adore the age-old tale of Beauty and the Beast. When I first saw that there was to be yet another retelling hitting the Young Adult shelves, I wasn’t super excited. Retellings are done so often, that they start getting old. I ended up picking up this book anyway because even though retellings are over-done, I still always end up enjoying them!

I was hoping that this retelling would have something new to bring to the table, and boy did it! It was refreshing and unique!

This has a fresh and modern twist and yet aligns so well with the well-known fairy tale.

We have interesting and dynamic characters. I love the representation of Cerebral Palsy.

Grey is by far my favorite character. I loved the friendship that is formed between him and Harper.

If you enjoy retellings, Beauty and the Beast or simply a good Young Adult Fantasy book, then this book is definitely for you!

Thanks so much for stopping by and reading this book review!

xoxo

Sarah June

cropped-Sarah-June-7.png

Buy me a coffeeBuy me a coffee

Please follow and like us:
error


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *